Gone Girl – Book Review

So I just finished reading the book that almost everyone had been talking about after the movie release: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. A thriller that delivered, without dissapointment. 

Absolutely spectacular!

The book is about just what the title states: Gone Girl. It starts off from one man’s perspective as we see his present situation: his wife goes missing on their anniversary. Confused he contacts the police, who investigate the crime scene….their house.

In the very next chapter we see the beginning of his wife’s diary, telling how they met. 

From then on, it alternates between chapters of her diary and then back to the husband, which, I personally think was a brilliant way to keep the audience’s attention and switching up pace. 

The book goes deep into the psychology of the characters, almost from the very beginning, as the pages from the diary reveal the wife’s personality and the author describes the huband’s by merely describing the circumstances he is experiencing.

Then, just when you think the mystery had been solved, right in the middle of the book comes the greatest plot twist ever done on paper.

I’ve seen many plot twists, but ladies and gentlemen, this may be the best one I’ve ever seen. 

Gillian Flynn won a place on the New York Times Best Seller List, as well as a deep respect from myself for her intelligent writing, and Gone Girl is the best selling of her books to date.

In it’s first year, over two million copies were sold.

I highly recommend this book to anyone, as a deep, interesting read is hard to find these days.

If you’ve already read it, or even if you plan on reading it, let me know what you think in the comments!

-Skye

P.S. If you didn’t already see my last post, I’m doing a Giveaway! Subscribe to my blog or like my Facebook page and winner will be announced in two weeks!

2 thoughts on “Gone Girl – Book Review

  1. hazmatt says:

    I like your post. I have seen this book and thought about reading it. I have tried writing a few book reviews lately also. It seems natural to write about something I like to do…read. I have a hard time putting my own perspective on the book… Sometimes I feel like I am just writing a summary similar to what one can read on the back of a book. Anyway, it’s good to hear this book is a good read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

